One of my favorite things, the Union Sq Farmer’s Market.

30 Jun

One of my favorite things (and something I’m really going to miss) in New York City is the Union Square Farmer’s Market. It’s open every Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday from 8am-6pm. I could (and sometimes do) spend hours wandering the booths, talking to the purveyors and buying up fruit, veggies, meat, cheese, bread and flowers for the week to come. I absolutely love being able to see, touch and smell the ingredients I’m going to use before I buy them.

I went by the market today and took some pictures to post (the picture of the herbs on my header bar is from my trip today). Enjoy!

Fresh Herbs - I bought lavender from here today.

Snow peas, peppers and herbs.

Many purveyors have gorgeous flowers - this was one of them.

I bought some edible flowes from this stand - they always have great greens.

Peaches, squash and flowers.

Apples

Radishes - making a comback.

Herbs - they can stay in these small pots or go into your garden.

Several purveyors have fresh baked goods, like this one.

A view into the market - not too busy right now.

I love cooking with mushrooms. This purveyor had all kinds - shitake, crimini, oyster...

There are also non-food items, like these soaps made with herbs and oils.

I love getting to the market right when they open in the morning, so I can get the best of what everyone has to offer. I find that as the day passes, there’s less to choose from. Check out what’s happening at the Union Sq market and other markets in NYC here.

One Response to “One of my favorite things, the Union Sq Farmer’s Market.”

  1. Molly Mac July 1, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

    I love it! you’re on my blogroll too 🙂

Leave a Reply

