Garde Manger, Gnocchi Parisienne & Menu Project

6 Jul

Today, Hunter, Warren, Nutty and I moved to Garde Manger (gard-mawn-zhay). This station typically makes salads, dressings, patés, and hors d’oeuvres (hot and cold). There are four dishes on the level 5 Garde Manger menu, so each of us was responsible for one. Today, I made Gnocchi Parisienne with Asparagus and Prosciutto in a Lemon Chicken Veloute. This is something I’d love to make over and over for dinner at home or with friends!

This dish took a bit of prep work in the beginning of the day but then was pretty quick to put together once ordered during service. The gnocchi aren’t your traditional potato type. Instead, they’re made with an egg dough that is cooked twice before being sauteed in the sauce. The gnocchi are first sauteed with prosciutto and asparagus, then the lemon chicken veloute sauce and finally finished with Parmigiano Reggiano and chervil. I had never cooked with chervil before coming to school, but it really is a great herb.

After school today, I worked on my menu project and caught up on emails from the weekend (it’s amazing how many emails add up in only a few days). I’m making it a priority to get more recipes posted on here this week – stay tuned! In the meantime, Rick and I are hanging close to the AC for the rest of the night!

4 Responses to “Garde Manger, Gnocchi Parisienne & Menu Project”

  1. Janice July 6, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    I nver knew Garde Manger included hot foods. Can you expand on your explaination? Thanks

    • lizbruno July 7, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

      Hi Janice-

      I think some restaurants do it differently and it depends on the place, the staff, how the kitchen is set up, etc. In our GM station, we’re making consomme and gnocchi at the moment, both hot dishes. Our station handles all first courses, hot and cold. It will be interesting to see (in the near future) how other kitchens work!

      -Liz

  2. Michelle July 6, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    Liz, I just want to say that I am so proud of you for all our your accomplishments in the past 6 months.

    First and foremost, you realized your full potential and fulfilled your dream of attending culinary school. I cannot tell you how happy it is to hear about all that you are learning (and of course cooking) each week!

    Secondly this blog is wonderful; what a great way to share with everyone what you are up to, both personally and professionally. It is so fun to read what you are working on, the places that you are traveling to and all your “neat” finds in NY (and elsewhere).

    And finally I just want to say that it is even more amazing to think of my sister as a PUBLISHED FOOD WRITER in a national magazine – I have my copy of “fresh” in the kitchen!!! 🙂

    Xo, Michelle

    • lizbruno July 7, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

      Thanks Michelle – means a lot. xo

Leave a Reply

