Level 5 Menu Project – Del Luogo

12 Jul

I handed in my menu project last Thursday and am so glad that it’s complete. All said and done, it took quite a bit of work between the cooking, photographing, research, writing, food costing and then laying it all out. I’ve posted all the recipes on my “Recipe” page with photos, but also wanted to list my menu here, with some background information on how I got to it.

Del Luogo, which means “local” in Italian, describes one very important aspect of my menu. I grew up in New England, in Massachusetts, and have always been drawn to cooking with the produce, meat, seafood and dairy from local New England farmers. I also grew up in a large Italian family and tend to draw from my Italian heritage in my cooking. This menu intertwines both of those very important threads in my life – using local ingredients with an Italian twist.

In researching ingredients for my menu, I wanted to be sure that I represented all New England states and that the majority, if not all of the ingredients used, could be found locally. Thus, included in the menu are Nantucket Bay scallops, Maine lobster and fiddleheads, Connecticut corn, Rhode Island tomatoes, Vermont honey and New Hampshire blueberries. I would also recommend purchasing the lamb in my third course from a New England purveyor, Adam’s Farm, in Athol Massachusetts.

I decided to keep (most of) the wine pairings local, as well. Two of the pairings come from Sakonnet Vineyards in Little Compton, RI, while one comes from one of mine and Jason’s favorite wineries, August Briggs, in the Calistoga part of Napa Valley, CA.

The menu, with wine pairings, is as follows:

First Course: Chilled New England Corn Chowder, Nantucket Bay Scallops, Maine Lobster
Wine Pairing:
2008 Sakonnet Vineyards Vidal Blanc

Second Course: Roasted Napoleon of Portobello, Tomato and Polenta, Basil Pesto

Third Course: Lamb Rib Chops with Mint Gremolata, Mascarpone and Wild Mushroom Risotto, Sautéed New England Fiddleheads
Wine Pairing:
2008 August Briggs ‘Dijon Clones’ Napa Valley Pinot Noir

Fourth Course: Fiore Sardo with Honeyed Fig Jam

Fifth Course: Lemon Panna Cotta with Local Blueberry Compote
Wine Pairing:
2006 Sakonnet Vineyards Port

Wish me luck – hopefully I do well grade-wise! I can share more information on the wine pairings and recipes if anyone is interested – just let me know.

3 Responses to “Level 5 Menu Project – Del Luogo”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Elderflower Roulade & a Busy Friday at LV « Delicious Ventures - July 24, 2010

    […] After our meeting the chef handed back our menu projects. I am happy to say that I got  100% on my menu project, and because of that (I’m assuming), I didn’t get my project back. The chefs will keep […]

  2. FCI Graduation « Delicious Ventures - August 24, 2010

    […] After that, it was award time. There were awards given out for perfect attendance, community service, a 95 GPA or higher and best menu projects. One person in our class received the award of distinction for having a cumulative GPA of 95 or better, Brian Kauffman – what an achievement! I received two awards, one for community service – I volunteered throughout the last six months at several events, student focus groups, recreational classes and the like. I also received, along with two other classmates, an award for getting a perfect score on my menu project. […]

  3. More Blueberry Madness: Backyard Blueberry Pie & Buttermilk Pudding Cakes « Delicious Ventures - September 28, 2010

    […] the sugared raspberries the recipe called for). I used the same Blueberry Compote that I used in my FCI Menu Project. The recipe couldn’t be easier and I love making individual desserts – they’re […]

Leave a Reply

