Char and Paella, Risotto & My First Trail

15 Jul

Today was day 3 of Poissonier. For the last two days, Hunter, Warren and I have made the cod dish. Today, we switched and made Poached Arctic Char with White Asparagus and Paella. However, I didn’t actually get to make any of it, because Chef whisked me and three other students away in the middle of service for a surprise. Four of us had the pleasure of dining in the restaurant today, and got to sample 16 dishes that levels 5 and 6 created! Everything was delicious – it’s amazing how different it is on the other side of the kitchen! It was such a nice treat. Tomorrow I’ll have photos of the char when I’m actually back there making it.

Last night I tried to recreate a dish Jason has always raved about, a risotto made with chicken, mozzarella and sun-dried tomatoes. I decided to wing it, make it my own and create a recipe out of it that you will be able to check out on my recipe page. It was delicious – something I’ll definitely keep on my roster for dinners at home or when we have company. Risotto is a laborious dish, but it’s a labor of love and the results are fantastic if you take your time.

This afternoon, I had my first trail, at a restaurant in TriBeca called Locanda Verde. A trail (or stage) is when you observe and maybe help out with small tasks at a restaurant, to see if you like it there and if they like you. You can do it once, or several times. A lot of people stage at several places to see what different kitchens are like. From there, it may lead to either get a job, or in my case, an internship. I went to LC after school and did some prep before service started, picking herbs, trimming and frenching wax beans and haricot verts and labeling bags. Once service started, I got to see how everything and everyone came together to put out amazing dishes. The dishes are rustic Italian using seasonal ingredients and all I could think the whole time is that I would love to eat and make everything they were serving. I got to try a few dishes while I was observing service as well: lamb meatball sliders with caprino and cucumber, orecchiette with homemade duck sausage, broccoli rabe and piave, and blue crab crostini with tomato, zucchini and jalapeno. Everything was amazing. I was so excited when at the end of the night the chefs offered me the opportunity for an internship, three days a week starting next week. I can’t wait to get started – this is going to be so fun!

3 Responses to “Char and Paella, Risotto & My First Trail”

  1. nana July 15, 2010 at 6:24 am #

    good for you honey, congrats on the intership.

    Liz, what is piave? How do you serve it and with what?

    • lizbruno July 15, 2010 at 7:30 am #

      Hi Nana- Piave is a hard Italian cow’s milk cheese. It has an intense flavor, somewhat like Parmigiano Reggiano. The piave last night was grated over the top of the pasta and is used in similar ways to Parmigiano Reggiano.

  2. Jennifer July 15, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    Congrats on the internship Liz!! Can’t wait to read all about it on the blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

