I give today… a thumbs up!

15 Jul

Ahh, the joys of working with knives and slippery food. I cut the tip of my thumb early this morning right after I sharpened my knife. I’m fine but my finger was wrapped up like this the entire day (a la Warren), and looked so funny I had to post it. He wanted to wrap my finger in a big blue finger cot first, so it really stood out, but I opted for this one instead. Phew!

Today was our last day of Poisonnier and Warren, Hunter and I worked on the Poached Arctic Char with White Asparagus and Paella. The char is steamed, seasoned with s+p and sits on top of a layer of cooked white asparagus. The white asparagus is cooked a l’anglaise first (in salted boiling water), shocked in ice water, and then finished a l’etuvee (quick braised in water, butter and salt). The fish is then topped with a salad of seasoned frisee and beech mushrooms dressed in extra virgin olive oil. It’s a great dish for the summer – light and flavorful. On the side, we serve paella with chorizo, clams and mussels. It is so easy to do – everyone should try making paella. You can use whatever shellfish and meat you have on hand or like (i.e. shrimp, chicken, sausage, mussels, lobster, clams, etc.).

Delicious!

I love these individual paella pans.

After school, I had homework to do, then finished testing a recipe for Taste of the Seacoast. I can’t give too many details as to what I tested (until the magazine gets published), but it was an apple dessert. Yum! Tomorrow is the first day of Saucier, the last station in Level 5!

One Response to “I give today… a thumbs up!”

  1. nana July 16, 2010 at 12:32 am #

    ok, where is the finger tip???????????

    Is that what is called tip a nade?????

Leave a Reply

