Veal Paillard & Friday Fun

17 Jul

Yesterday was the first day of Saucier. This is the station that makes the main entrees with meat (vs fish). Between levels 5 and 6 we make chicken, steak, veal and pork. I made Veal Paillard with Haricots Verts (string beans) and Wild Mushroom Puree, Served with Spinach-Parmesan Puree. As you read, there are a few purees in this recipe – they’re super flavorful and complement the simple grilled veal wonderfully. The veal is seasoned with salt and pepper and grilled. A salad of haricots verts, beech mushrooms, shaved artichokes, frisee and sauteed wild mushrooms is placed on top of the veal. On the side is a quenelle of wild mushroom puree and some of the spinach-parmesan puree. Because of the puree’s texture, plating this dish at the last minute is key to keeping everything hot, in the shape we want, and keeping the texture. Getting the technique right is sometimes tricky but after some practice its easier.

I didn’t get the greatest picture of the plate because we needed to get it out fast, so I snapped it quick, but you can see each component well. The veal has a nice quadrillage on it that looks nice. A quadrillage is the diamond or square pattern made when grilling.

Last night, Jason and I went to my friend Jillian’s house in Queens. It’s her birthday Sunday and she had a few people over to kickoff the weekend. Jillian and I go to school together and there were several of us from class there. It’s nice to hang out with everyone outside of the kitchen. We had a blast – happy birthday Jillian!

I haven’t watched Food Network in quite a while (not much time/want for tv lately), so I’m catching up on some this am while the rest of my family gets up. May hit up the farmer’s market today and test a recipe later if the editor has it for me.

Enjoy the day!

2 Responses to “Veal Paillard & Friday Fun”

  1. nana July 17, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    Liz,

    I am more and more impressed with your termonology (?)
    and all this great cooking. I cannot say enough of how proud I am of you.
    I love veal chops, but not quite sure of this dish. Would I like it???

    • lizbruno July 17, 2010 at 10:08 am #

      Hi – thanks! The terminology comes with the territory I guess and with chefs repeating them over and over! The veal for this dish is a different cut of meat than a chop. We use veal top round, which is sliced thin, has little fat and is really tender. Chops have more fat (and more flavor in my opinion). I think you’d like this dish. You could omit the purees and serve extra wild mushrooms and/or sauteed spinach on the side and squeeze lemon over the veal paillard. They cook up REALLY quickly on the grill so it’s nice to put together on a weeknight.

Leave a Reply

