Back in Pastry to Kick Off Level 6!

22 Jul

Today was the first day of Level 6 and I am starting my rotation in pastry. I love pastry. Many of my culinary peers don’t enjoy pastry – it’s a lot of measuring and you have to be exact and things can get overcooked very easily. I, on the other hand, really like knowing the science behind pastry and love desserts, so I enjoy making them.

Today, Warren and I made an Elderflower Roulade with Lemon Curd. It was delicious. A roulade looks like a jelly roll and is basically sponge cake put into a terrine mold and filled with elderflower mousse. Jason and I LOVE the elderflower liquor St. Germain, so I knew I was going to love this dessert. We used elderflower syrup in the mousse though, not liquor. The terrine is then put in the refrigerator to firm up before service. We make a lemon curd to be served on the side, and garnish the plate with blueberries, candied lemon rind and a piece of thin chocolate. It’s light and refreshing, perfect for summer. I love the combination of elderflower and lemon.

After school today I met my friend Jennie for dinner in midtown. We went to Penelope on Lexington and 30th. It’s a homey cafe, bakery and bar and has great food, drinks and a fun atmosphere. They use really fresh ingredients in their food, which I appreciate. Jennie and I split a basket of fries (they’re homemade, we couldn’t resist), some sangria, and I had a chicken and artichoke sandwich while Jennie had the beet salad. Everything was delicious!

I’m looking forward to the end of the week and my first Friday night at Locanda Verde tomorrow. Have a great Friday everyone!

One Response to “Back in Pastry to Kick Off Level 6!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Elderflower Roulade & a Busy Friday at LV « Delicious Ventures - July 24, 2010

    […] was my last day making the Elderflower Roulade  with Lemon Curd. It’s really important that I do every component of every dish as it’s a possibility […]

Leave a Reply

