The Last 2 Days of Level 5

22 Jul

Tuesday and Wednesday, Hunter, Warren and I made Roasted Hampshire Pork Loin with Pea-Mint Puree, Potato Terrine and Sherry Vinegar Pork Jus. The pork is marinated in olive oil, herbs and garlic, seared on all sides to develop a deep brown crust and then finished in the oven. We made a jus with a pork stock reinforced with pork trimmings and a gastrique. The pea-mint puree is made similar to all the other purees, but with milk, garlic, mint, s + p and peas. The potato terrine is actually made a day ahead of time, so all the layers of potato, butter and herbs have time to get pressed into shape.

The finished dish!

We also had the opportunity to do a saucier special on Tuesday, so we did roasted lamb with mashed potatoes, peas, carrots, sauteed onions and a lamb jus. I was calling this a deconstructed shepherd’s pie all day because that’s what’s basically in one. It came out wonderfully. The lamb is marinated in Herbs de Provence, olive oil and garlic, seared and then finished in the oven. The potatoes were put through a ricer (I love this gadget), mixed with garlic, cream and butter, and then layered with the sauteed onions, peas and carrots. Lastly, we garnished the plate with a little bit of mache to add some color, texture and a “fresh” element to the dish.

Since I had to work Wednesday night, I had to do my homework for Thursday on Tuesday, which involved writing down and studying the new recipes for the Level 6 pastry station, which I’ll be starting this Thursday! The recipes look amazing and I can’t wait to share pictures with everyone when I have them. I can’t believe I’m going into Level 6 this week already. The time flew by so quickly.

I just got home from work, where I was pretty busy all night. Laura (the other intern I work with) and I had a full list of things to do to help prep for service tonight, a party held at the restaurant tonight and for service tomorrow. I think there’s going to be a TON of garlic in my future – they go through it like crazy! I worked with roasted pureed garlic (RPG) and garlic confit tonight – both wonderful ways to prepare garlic. I got to sample more orecchiette with homemade duck sausage, broccoli rabe and piave while I was working – absolutely delicious. I’m really looking forward to seeing what Friday nights are like. Besides parties and the normal service prep, I believe I’ll help prep for the weekend brunch service. Can’t wait! I may have to have brunch there soon too!

Leave a Reply

