Tuna and Scallops and Caponata – oh my!

10 Aug

This week started out in the Poissonier (fish) station. On Monday and Tuesday, I made Roasted Tuna and Pan-Seared Scallop with Spicy Vegetable Compote
and Squid Sauce, with Warren. It’s a super flavorful dish with a lot of depth, and several components that all balance each other out. It starts out with a sauce made from carrots and onions, squid bodies, stock and seasoning. The orange-colored sauce is pureed and used to finish the plate. Then, a caponata is made with lots of veggies (eggplant, celery, onion, tomato), dried currents, capers, red wine vinegar, anchovies, olives, basil, orange zest, pine nuts and spices. A roulade (cylinder shape) of tuna is seared off (left rare in the middle – just how I like it), sliced thin and placed on top of the caponata along with a seared sea scallop. The sauce surrounds the plate and is topped with a chiffonade of basil for garnish and flavor.

This is the finished dish! I’d love to make this caponata again for a dinner party and serve it with fish.

Work last night was very busy – there’s a lot to be prepped for dinner service and lunch the next day. My fellow intern Laura worked service most of the night on Garde Manger, but came down to help me with prep work later on. Hopefully Wednesday I’ll be upstairs working service – the time flies up there.

I’m heading out soon to help my friend Jennie celebrate her birthday at the Flatiron Lounge in midtown – it’s a casual bar/restaurant with an “Old New York” feel to it – serving up classic cocktails and decor. Have a great night!

2 Responses to “Tuna and Scallops and Caponata – oh my!”

  1. Kate August 10, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    I will be at that dinner party – my favorite dish. Where would you buy high grade tuna in NY?

    • lizbruno August 10, 2010 at 5:10 pm #

      Great question Kate! I would go to The Lobster Place – there’s one in Chelsea Market and one in the West Village. Or, for somewhere more accessible, Whole Foods has a nice fish department. I’m sure there are other fish markets that are great, but those would be my first two choices.

Leave a Reply

