Packing and peaches!

24 Aug

I hate to pack, but at least I have a week off to do it and don’t have to juggle it with a full day of work. Rick and I dove straight in to packing and laundry this morning. As you can see, he’s raring to go!

In addition to packing, there’s lots of laundry to catch up with. It’s going to be a fun-filled week! Halfway through the day, Rick and I stopped for a lunch break. Instead of a big lunch and in honor of peach season, I opted to make a Peach n’ Honey Smoothie. Our neighbors have a peach tree and it’s so big that some of the branches hang over into our yard. We can’t let those peaches go to waste so I picked two today and got to work!

You can read the detailed recipe here, but to give you an idea of how easy this was, here are all my ingredients (minus the yogurt):

I use frozen sliced peaches instead of ice in my smoothies, so it doesn’t taste watered down and is still frothy. I also chopped up one of the fresh peaches from outside. We have a stick/hand blender that came with a tall plastic cup for blending in, absolutely perfect for smoothies. It takes up less space than a blender and is ideal for 1-2 servings.

My smoothie was frothy, peachy, a little sweet thanks to the honey and had a warm spice thanks to the nutmeg. I used Chobani vanilla yogurt with honey because that’s what we had on hand, but you can use any kind of yogurt and any kind of fruit you have. We buy a lot of berries in the summer, and instead of letting them go to waste if we can’t eat them all, I put whatever we can’t eat in a Ziploc bag and keep them in the freezer for smoothies.

The finished product!

Last night, I submitted my mac n’ cheese recipe to food gawker. I’m not sure what they’re acceptance policy is, but I hope it is posted on there soon! Back to packing for a few more hours before we call it a night!

2 Responses to “Packing and peaches!”

  1. Lou K. August 24, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    That smoothie looks super tasty!

Leave a Reply

