A day of errands and glorious chicken!

26 Aug

I worked until late last night and thus, slept in a bit today. This afternoon though, I ran some errands and continued packing our apartment up. First I ran to Home Depot to get more boxes, then headed to The Brooklyn Kitchen, a grocer and kitchen supply store. They also have a butcher shop in the back of the store, The Meat Hook, where I picked up some chicken legs to cook for dinner tonight. I grabbed some heirloom tomatoes, apples and cipollini onions too. I absolutely LOVE this place. In addition to new and modern kitchen gadgets and cookware, they also have vintage pieces that I’d love to have. I’m sure some of my family members have these pieces in their attics or basements and don’t realize they’re now considered “vintage” and people go so crazy for them!

They've got a great "sign" in the front of the building!

The front of Brooklyn Kitchen has garage doors so you can peak inside. See all the vintage cookware!

There's a place for you to pour your own oils and vinegars, among all the pickling ingredients!

Heirloom and beefsteak tomatoes for sale

The produce is all from local farmers.

Behind the counter at the Meat Hook

Meat! There's a whole separate case for poultry. The quality is superior.

Here are some of those vintage cookware pieces I love. I believe some are old Pyrex sets. The colors are great.

For dinner tonight, I was planning on grilling my marinated chicken legs, but we left the bag of charcoal outside, it got wet with all the rain we had and wouldn’t light. So instead, I thought I’d braise the legs. The chicken marinated in olive oil, garlic, chili flakes, salt, pepper and rosemary. I started by heating up my cast iron pot really high with a few tbsp of olive oil. Then I browned the chicken skin side first, on both sides. The key to crispy brown skin that doesn’t stick is a really hot pan and some oil.

Here's my chicken browning in the pan, with just a touch of olive oil.

Next, I added my peeled, halved cipollini onions and a chopped heirloom tomato and cooked it with the chicken. It was time to deglaze my pan and get up all the brown bits of goodness on the bottom. I didn’t want to open a bottle of wine, so instead I used half a bottle of Brooklyn Summer Ale. I then added chicken stock to the pot to cover the chicken by almost half. Next, you bring the liquid to a boil, put the cover on and place it in a 325 degree oven for 45 minutes.

Here are my legs, tomatoes and onions in the braising liquid after I took it out of the oven.

When the chicken was done, I took it out of the pot along with the onions and set them aside. I wanted something to go on the side with my chicken and vegetables, so I decided on quinoa because it cooks quickly and I can use my braising liquid to make it. I mixed 1 cup quinoa with 2 cups of my braising liquid (I didn’t strain the liquid first) along with some of the chopped tomatoes. The mixture is brought to a boil, covered and then lowered to a simmer. It simmers for 10-15 minutes until most of the liquid is absorbed and the grains start to look translucent. I served my chicken with the quinoa, cipollini onions and tomatoes. It was delicious – the onions were sweet and melted in your mouth while the quinoa had all the flavor of the braise. The chicken was cooked perfectly as well.

This was the most flavorful dinner I've made in a while - it was delicious.

I’m off to pack some more – have a good night!

One Response to “A day of errands and glorious chicken!”

  1. Lou August 27, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    Now I’m HUNGRY…!!

Leave a Reply

