A NEW Union Square Farmers Market

8 Sep

We’re baaaaack! Jason and I are back in Boston and pretty settled into our house, minus a few miscellaneous boxes. Rick is also getting used to being in a house again, taking advantage of our yard and barking at all the neighbors!

One of the first things I wanted to do after we got home was fill the kitchen with fresh fruit and produce. Luckily, we live walking distance to a great farmer’s market, in Union Square, Somerville. The market is open every Saturday from 9am-1pm through October. I hadn’t been to this market in years and it sure has grown. There were a dozen purveyors of fruit, vegetables, flowers, meat and poultry, baked goods, herbs and plants. We made sure to get a little bit of everything – fruits, veggies, poultry and fresh cut flowers (for my mom, awwww).

Beautiful local raspberries. I used these in a dessert I made last weekend.

Juicy local blackberries that I also used in my weekend dessert.

Ever since I cooked this a few times in school, I've wanted to make bok choy more often.

I intended to put these colorful cherry tomatoes into a salad, but we ended up snacking on them in between meals!

We couldn't take our herb pots with us from NY so I picked up basil for my dessert granita!

We've become obsessed with white peaches! They're so juicy and sweet, perfect mixed into granola or on their own.

Apples are typically a staple for us every week - plus, it's apple season in New England!

I've always wanted to make homemade pickles and spotted these small cucs, perfect for pickles so I grabbed some.

These were the most interesting flowers in beautiful bold colors - I knew my mom would love them.

This watermelon was going to be chopped up to go with the cherry tomatoes (but we ate those already), so I think we'll just eat it on its own!

The last purchase at the market was a whole chicken from a local farm. It seemed weird to photograph it, but I’ll post pictures of the dishes I made with it soon enough! I’m so glad I can hit up this market every weekend. We went at 11am and by then it was packed with adults, kids and dogs. It was really difficult to get around so next time I think I’ll go earlier before the crowd. I’ve done quite a bit of cooking since being home (yea for a dishwasher and full-size oven!) and will post new recipes and photos soon.

2 Responses to “A NEW Union Square Farmers Market”

  1. nana September 9, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    welcome home, we missed you.

    now we reverse the rolls, you teach me how to cook

    love you

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention A NEW Union Square Farmers Market « Delicious Ventures -- Topsy.com - September 9, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by svillelocal1st, Adrianne Schaefer. Adrianne Schaefer said: Folks are blogging about their farmers market booty! http://ht.ly/2BQsh […]

Leave a Reply

