Blueberry Madness

9 Sep

Not only do we have a yard at our home, but we also have a few fruiting bushes and trees. There’s a peach tree, two blueberry bushes, and raspberry bushes that grow on the side of the house! They were all here when we bought the house and have produced fruit every year – how lucky are we?! The peach tree is kind of difficult to keep up with because it produces so much fruit and weighs the tree branches down, but there’s nothing like picking fresh fruit off a tree and eating it immediately.

All the peaches had fallen from the tree before we moved back, but we heard there were TONS!

Our blueberry bushes however, were in full bloom when we moved in. According to our neighbors, this is the second time they bloomed this season and they’ve produced an insane amount of berries.

This is the view of one bush from a few feet away - it doesn't look like there's much until you get closer.

Take a look at all those berries - both bushes were filled with clusters of plump ripe berries.

What to do, what to do… My mom hosted a Labor Day cookout, so I decided to bring a dessert that I could use my blueberries in. First, I made a Blueberry Basil Granita, with a recipe I found on Epicurious. I blended fresh lime juice, basil, blueberries, water and sugar; then that mixture went into tupperware to freeze – it was that easy. A granita is like Italian ice and is great on its own, or as a complement to a light cake, biscotti, fruit, etc. It was very blueberry-y. It was so hot out though that it melted almost before making it to the table – I may save this dessert for an inside affair.

The second recipe I used the blueberries in was a Mascarpone-Filled Cake with Sherried Berries, also from Epicurious. Mascarpone is a mild soft Italian cheese, with the consistency of creme fraiche or soft cream cheese and is used in many Italian desserts, like tiramisu. This recipe was a huge hit – the entire cake was eaten that afternoon. I used my blueberries along with the raspberries and blackberries I had bought at the farmer’s market for the topping – it was delicious. This was the perfect summer dessert. The cake was light and moist, while the filling was creamy and tangy. Plus I’d never say no to boozy berries!

This isn't the exact cake I made, but it looked pretty close to this!

It was nice to cook for my family again, especially something that was so well received. I’ve got to come up with more blueberry recipes before the season is over. On the other hand, having fresh blueberries to put in your cereal every day is pretty cool too.

2 Responses to “Blueberry Madness”

  1. nana September 9, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    to anyone reading this blog, let me tell you how good that cake was. OMG Its a cake where one piece is not enough.
    Kudos to Liz, she did a great job

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What To Do with Leftover Corn « Delicious Ventures - September 9, 2010

    […] it would be a great way to start the day. I never have buttermilk on hand but needed it for the Mascarpone-Filled Cake with Sherried Berries and didn’t want the rest to go to waste, so I used it in my pancakes. These pancakes were out […]

Leave a Reply

