What To Do with Leftover Corn

9 Sep

Corn on the cob is one of those things that people usually make more of than they need. With all the other side dishes at cookout, a lot of people pass on the corn. My mom made corn on the cob Sunday and had a lot leftover. Instead of throwing it out, I took it home to come up with some new recipes.

Jason and I had turkey burgers the other night and I thought what would be better than a Summer Corn Salad. First, I seasoned the corn with extra virgin olive oil, salt, pepper and chili powder. I wanted a lot of flavor so I seasoned aggressively.

Then, we grilled the corn on medium-high heat until all sides were slightly charred. Since the corn was already cooked, I only needed to warm it up and get some color on it – this didn’t take long at all.

While Jason grilled the corn, I prepped the rest of my salad. I halved cherry tomatoes, diced avocado and chopped parsley. Note: If I had cilantro, I would have opted for that over the parsley, but I used what I had on hand. When the corn was done, I cut it in half so I had two pieces with flat ends, and with a chef’s knife sliced the kernels off the cob. In a large bowl I mixed my corn, tomatoes and avocado. To that, I added the juice of half a large lime, about 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil, salt, pepper and chopped parsley. It was delicious – the cool creamy avocado paired great with my smoky charred corn and the tomatoes and lime added some brightness and acidity. A perfect pairing with our turkey burgers and definitely a recipe to keep in mind for next summer!

I still had more corn leftover and wanted to do something on the sweet side with them. I thought of cornbread, corn muffins, corn ice cream… you get the idea. I landed on Corn and Blueberry Buttermilk Pancakes (click on the link for the full recipe). I love pancakes and thought it would be a great way to start the day. I never have buttermilk on hand but needed it for the Mascarpone-Filled Cake with Sherried Berries and didn’t want the rest to go to waste, so I used it in my pancakes.

These pancakes were out of this world! Local Massachusetts maple syrup and fresh blueberries on top finished the dish.

I like my pancakes on the whole grain/nuttier/healthier side, so I used white whole wheat flour and that along with buttermilk, corn and blueberries was heavenly. I didn’t use a lot of sugar because the blueberries and corn were naturally sweet. These cakes were nutty, light, and full of great textures. The key to fluffy pancakes is not flattening them with your spatula while in the pan, and only turning them once, allowing them to rise and then keep that height.

Take a look at the inside of these pancakes. They were chock full of corn and berries and this photo shows how thick each cake was.

I highly recommend trying them out next time you’re in the mood for pancakes. The last thing I did with my leftover corn… gave it to Rick! It wasn’t seasoned initially, so it was perfect to slice off the cob and add to his dry food. He loved it!

What do you do with your leftover corn? The possibilities are endless.

One Response to “What To Do with Leftover Corn”

  1. Lou September 10, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    Great ideas, both the salad and pancakes look delicious…!! Can’t wait to try them.

Leave a Reply

