Living on the line

10 Mar

I can’t believe it… it’s been six months since I started my job as a line cook at Bergamot (and wrote in my blog – sorry all!) and boy has my life changed! No longer are the days when I’m up at 6am and home at 7pm! Now, I’m up at 9, err 10am, and home sometime between 11pm and 1am depending on the day.

There are a lot of things I love about my job – the people, the work I do everyday and the products we’re working with. I feel like I’ve found a great place to learn and grow as a cook. I learn something new everyday – whether it’s a new technique or cooking with an ingredient I’ve never used before. I’m working Garde Manger – where I prepare most of the cold appetizers for the restaurant. I also prepare the amuse bouche everyday, which is challenging and fun. The menu is constantly changing depending on what’s in season, which is great for me as I’m new to the biz. Unfortunately, what has been difficult is the little time I have with Jason, friends and family. I work nights and weekends, so it’s been hard to see people, but I’m trying to figure it all out and still have fun.

Luckily, I’ve got a very supportive network of people around me, who also love to eat! Take a look at who dropped in recently…

Here I am at work when Anna, Michaela and Jason came to visit!

This week is especially crazy because it’s Restaurant Week in Boston! We’re serving our normal menu and an additional Restaurant Week menu. I’ve really missed my blogging and will be making an effort to write posts more often. I hope everyone reading had a wonderful winter and is ready for spring. I especially can’t wait for the spring farmer’s markets to open up. I found a great site that gives a listing of all the markets in Massachusetts. I live a few blocks from the Union Square market, but may expand my horizons come the summer.

Enjoy the rest of the week!

3 Responses to “Living on the line”

  1. Becca March 11, 2011 at 8:31 am #

    Love seeing this Liz! Cant wait to read more..Thanks for sharing!!

  2. Michaela March 11, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    YAY – I AM HAPPY YOU ARE BACK TO BLOGGING 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Restaurant Week – Take 2 « Delicious Ventures - March 14, 2011

    […] Comments « Living on the line […]

Leave a Reply

