Restaurant Week – Take 2

14 Mar

Today marked the start of week 2 of Restaurant Week (RW). It was also daylight savings – so I lost an hour of sleep (booooo!). Last week was pretty crazy and tonight was no different. It’s great for the restaurant because every night has been like a Friday or Saturday night when we’re the busiest. As always, we like to change things up a bit and have a completely different RW menu this week. In addition to the usual dishes I prepare, my RW salad consisted of frisee, endive, shiitake mushrooms, goat cheese, toasted hazelnuts, orange segments and a banyuls vinaigrette – delicious! There were so many great textures going on. And I LOVE LOVE LOVE goat cheese in anything.

My amuse bouche today was marinated tofu with a carrot, bell pepper and scallion salad. We had some tofu in the house, so I figured this was the perfect use for it. I marinated it in rice wine vinegar, soy sauce, lime juice, toasted sesame oil and sriracha. It came out really nice. Since I started my job, I’ve definitely developed a pallet for spicier dishes – hence the little kick in my marinade with the sriracha. Time to think of tomorrow’s amuse now…

I’m home now and wide awake. I wish I could go right to sleep after work, but it’s really difficult after going so fast for so many hours and then coming to a screeching halt after service and cleanup. Instead, I spent some time catching up on emails and reviewing our wedding invitation layouts! We are so lucky to be working with my friend Jennie to design the invitations. She did our save the date cards and they came out wonderful – I can’t wait to see the invitations printed!

 

we're so happy with how our 'save the date' cards came out. they're fun and tell our story perfectly.

Well, I need my rest before another day of RW. Hope everyone has a fantastic Monday!

Leave a Reply

