A Productive Day Off & a Peruvian Dinner

17 Mar

Today was my first day off since last Thursday. It’s weird to have Wednesday and Thursday as a “weekend” but I’m getting used to it. There certainly isn’t the usual weekend traffic or people to deal with when trying to go to the gym, get groceries or run other errands. Everyone else is working while I’m doing all those things – it’s kind of nice. Today was just that – I ran a million errands all over Somerville in a matter of a few hours and managed to get a great workout in at the gym. I recently became a member at Healthworks in Porter Square and look forward to going whenever I can. It’s a women only gym, which is new to me, and a lot nicer than most of the other gyms I’ve belonged to. AND – since I’m going while everyone else is at work, I get whatever machine I want and don’t have to deal with the craziness of working out before 9am or after 5pm. Besides the gym, I went to the vet, City Hall, got the car inspected, and grabbed some things at CVS – I got a ton done today. A good amount of my time this afternoon was spent online and catching up on laundry too.

Tonight, my friend Jennifer came by. We drank August Briggs Cabernet and got dinner from Machu Picchu Restaurant in Union Square. They serve the most delicious Peruvian food and are right around the corner from where I live. We had a handmade tamale stuffed with pork and wrapped in a banana leaf, steamed fish served with spicy onions, tomatoes, and golden potatoes, and marinated beef served with canary beans and rice.

Dinner was delicious. Jennifer loves trying different cuisines – she’s a great dinner date! We were so busy chatting that we didn’t end up eating a lot and there are a ton of leftovers for tomorrow. Speaking of tomorrow, I have another day off and lots more I want to get accomplished. Goodnight all!

Leave a Reply

